Don't Make This Goal Setting Mistake

The Creative

Welcome to this week’s edition of The Creative where every week you get 3 tips, 1 book, and 1 quote to help you become a better business person and marketer.

Before we dive into today’s message, my new book is almost out! Be sure to pre-order using the link HERE.

3 Tips

Goal Setting: There’s a common mistake I see when people set goals that I’d like to address. A goal without a plan is merely a dream.

“I want to build a $1M business.” Sure, that’s a great goal, but without a detailed action plan to reach it, it won’t happen. Nobody reaches success by accident. You must build a plan and become laser-focused on taking action every day toward it.

Active Listening: One of the greatest skills in sales and business is active listening. One of the easiest ways to separate yourself from the competition is to actually listen deeply to your prospect. What are their concerns? Their wishes? Fears? Desires? And then ask more about them… let them know you’re listening intently and care about them. Most salespeople think transactional. To be great, you must think relationally.

Weekly Review Sessions: Take 30 minutes every Sunday and plan out your entire week. This saves me hours of figuring out what I need to be working on throughout the week.

Set the intentions. Set your goals. Meal prep if you need to. Etc.

1 Book

StoryBrand by Donald Miller: If you’re building a brand or business, this is a must-read book. Every brand should follow the StoryBrand framework. Every great movie you’ve ever seen follows the framework to a “T.”

I’d highly recommend you pick up a copy and read it yourself.

1 Quote

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: It is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

Keep growing,

Brian Town
Michigan Creative
Founder & CEO

P.S.

Whenever you’re ready, here are 3 ways I can help:

  • Check out our blog HERE where I write about all things marketing and leadership, and where I interview other successful business owners and entrepreneurs.

  • I’ve coached hundreds of business owners, helping them reach their goals and become the best entrepreneurs they can be. Learn more about my coaching program.

  • As a Fractional CMO, I come alongside you and your business to help you reach your highest goals. Consider learning more and booking me for a 15min call HERE.