Overcoming Imposter Syndrome

My Personal Journey...

Welcome to this week’s edition of The Creative where every week you get 3 tips, 1 book, and 1 quote to help you become a better business person and marketer.

Before we dive into today’s message, my new book is almost out! Be sure to pre-order using the link HERE.

My Journey of Overcoming Imposter Syndrome (and what you can learn from it):

I’ve had imposter syndrome for as long as I can remember.

This feeling haunted me early in leadership.

Outwardly I was achieving…

My first real job out of college I was hired to run a TV station and teach TV and film classes at a high school. 1000s of awards and national recognition, and lives have changed.

I still felt it wasn’t anything to do with me.

Internally, I discounted my capabilities.

It would take intentional personal growth to transform my self-doubt into self-confidence.

I hate to admit this, but…

Early on, my confidence depended largely on external validation.

However, real self-trust doesn’t come from plaques on your wall, your LinkedIn bio, or anything else external.

It starts with owning the well of potential and creativity within, irrespective of achievements.

How you think of yourself cannot depend on someone else.

This is something I had to learn the hard way.

I had to learn to take quiet pride in my gifts, not what people thought.

But this is where it gets tricky. External markers like promotions or compliments may affirm capability. It’s not like it’s wrong to want to seek those things. It’s just that they make unstable anchors for confidence and self-worth. I was dependent on these extrinsic highs, sending me chasing validation.

That is something completely different than wanting to do well for the sake of doing well.

Or doing well because I wanted to give the best that I could to what I was doing.

To center myself, I had to get help.

A coach had to help me connect with my…

  • Passions

  • Core values

  • Sense of purpose

…to use as my inner compass through life.

The values my father taught me needed to be my standard, not the people around me.

Once that happened.

Once I was able to connect with my roots.

Once I was able to live in a way that made myself proud.

That’s when things began to change.

That’s when imposter syndrome ran away with its tail between his legs.

Leadership confidence from living out your values.

Not how…

  • Your manager rates you

  • Your friends’ things you did

  • Your presentation was received

  • Your peers respond to your values

Walking in your values breeds confidence.

A comparison mindset breeds deep self-doubt.

Left unchecked, self-doubt only snowballs into darker areas.

You put your self-doubt in check by telling yourself the truth.

The truth is what they say doesn’t change anything.

The truth is you don't have to live up to their standards.

The truth is what they think won’t matter on your deathbed.

The truth is you only need to compare yourself with who you know you should be.

My journey illuminates why leaders must grow awareness to transcend insecurity’s gravity.

Unaddressed self-doubt sabotages impact, even amidst outward wins.

For those who feel like imposters, I see you.

Others’ high expectations signal your promise, not inadequacy.

You belong in every room you enter.

You write your leadership story and it should be anchored in your gifts and purpose.

Not on what you thought others thought of you and how that controlled you.

The path to self-trust for any leader is nonlinear, but know you don’t walk alone.

Each choice to own your potential compounds, until imposter syndrome loses its control.

You already hold the abundance needed for the impact you’re here to make.

It’s up to you to walk in it.

3 Tips

Task Batching: Deep work is something that is talked about quite a bit in the personal development space. Something that goes right along with deep work is task batching. For example, tasks that fall into a similar category such as writing content, should be performed together. Lighter effort tasks such as emails or reviewing business numbers should be performed together. It’s the constant jumping from task category to task category that throws off our focus.

You will be far less productive when you’re bouncing around from different project to project.

Time Audit: Sleeping and working (both ~8 hours per day) make up for about 65% of your life. If you have a family and kids, maybe that’s another 20% of your life. What are you doing with the other 15%? Or, is the ~30% spent on work as productive as it could be?

My goal for you, is to take a look at your schedule and calendar and honestly audit your time. Don’t do it in a negative way and be hard on yourself, but look for the opportunities… maybe you’re

  • Spending 2 hours at the gym when it only needs to be 45 minutes

  • Spending 90 minutes every night watching Netflix

  • Hitting snooze too often and wasting 30-60min every day sleeping in

Look for opportunities to start maximizing your time and spending it intentionally.

Gratitude: I know I’m guilty of this, but one of the hardest things to do in today’s modern world of social media and comparison… is to be grateful for what you have.

Too often we have “next thing” syndrome and are constantly seeking out the next thing. Wanting more isn’t a bad thing. In fact, it’s a good thing. But, never being grateful and showing gratitude for what you have will lead to burnout and overwhelm.

1 Book

The Almanack of Naval Ravikant by Eric Jorgensen: Easily one of the most profound books of the last decade. If you’re seriously considering entrepreneurship and looking for something to give you that last final push, this book is for you.

1 Quote

"What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals." - Zig Ziglar

Thanks for reading!

Keep growing,

Brian Town
Michigan Creative
Founder & CEO

P.S.

Whenever you’re ready, here are 3 ways I can help:

  • Check out our blog HERE where I write about all things marketing and leadership, and where I interview other successful business owners and entrepreneurs.

  • I’ve coached hundreds of business owners, helping them reach their goals and become the best entrepreneurs they can be. Learn more about my coaching program.

  • As a Fractional CMO, I come alongside you and your business to help you reach your highest goals. Consider learning more and booking me for a 15min call HERE.