The Smartest People I Know Do This...

The Creative

Welcome to this week’s edition of The Creative where every week you get 3 tips, 1 book, and 1 quote to help you become a better business person and marketer.

Before we dive into today’s message, if you haven’t already, check out our blog HERE.

3 Tips

Time Blocking: I continue to be amazed when I learn people DON’T do this. As a business owner, I have yet to find a better way to stay organized and be productive throughout the week.

If you want to learn about personal development, start by learning how to time block. There are very few downsides to having complete control over your time and how you spend it.

The only thing you have to do is have the discipline to stick to your time blocks.

Digital Detox: In the digital and “always on” world we live in today, an occasional digital detox is a must for everyone. When you’re on your phone, working, or watching a show, your brain stays in “input mode.” But you’re truly able to process and hold on to new information when you turn off input mode and allow your brain and body to relax.

When was the last time you just sat there in your living room with nothing on and let your mind wander? The smartest people I know try to do this at least once a day. If you haven’t done a digital detox in a while, I’d highly recommend it.

Effective Delegation: I’m convinced this is one of the hardest things to do as a business owner. I’ve been in your shoes. You’ve built your business to where it is today by doing everything yourself. It’s hard to let go and begin to delegate things to others.

But let me tell you (because I experienced it firsthand), if you want your business to grow to the level you want, then you better start learning how to delegate. Start small with simple tasks and move up from there.

I promise you your team is more capable than you may think.

1 Book

The War of Art by Steven Pressfield: October last year was a huge pivot for me and all of our businesses. Reading War Of Art, a better morning routine, and a simple belief that maybe I was the one, changed me. Crazy how a simple mindset and new perspective in your worst times can change everything.

Know this. It’s never easy. But it can be done, and you are the only one to do it.

Reinvention is key. Don't fear the pivot, embrace it! The ability to evolve and adapt is what separates the good from the great.

My pivot was around the same time as I was reading this book. It is the top book I recommend to anyone who asks.

Here’s a quick snippet from it:

1 Quote

"The only person you are destined to become is the person you decide to be." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Keep growing,

Brian Town
Michigan Creative
Founder & CEO

P.S.

Whenever you’re ready, here are 3 ways I can help:

  • Check out our blog HERE where I write about all things marketing and leadership, and where I interview other successful business owners and entrepreneurs.

  • I’ve coached hundreds of business owners, helping them reach their goals and become the best entrepreneurs they can be. Learn more about my coaching program.

  • As a Fractional CMO, I come alongside you and your business to help you reach your highest goals. Consider learning more and booking me for a 15min call HERE.